The Royal Australian Mint will immortalise 12 classic Fords and Holden racing cars with a run of 360,000 special 50 cent coins.

The coins are part of what The Mint has dubbed a 'Reverendum', with fans invited to have vote for their favourite of the 12 iconic cars.

There will be 30,000 coins from each car released for individual sale, which will be both collector pieces and legal tender.

Australian Supercar Classic coins presentation

“The new 2018 Motorsport coin collection celebrates the history of Holden, Ford and Australia’s long held love of racing," says Ross MacDiarmid, CEO of The Mint.

"Coins and cars are hot topics in collectibles, making this the perfect partnership.

“To celebrate the new coins, we are calling on all Aussies to have their say in Australia’s first ever Reverendum. Whether you prefer the classic Holden 1970 HT Monaro or the 1996 VR Commodore HRT, it’s your chance to have a say. Ford fans will be able to select from the Ford 1969 Boss 302 Mustang Trans-AM and the 1977 XC Falcon Hardtop amongst others."

Bathurst winners headline the featured cars, with 10 of the 12 having conquered Mount Panorama.

Australian Supercar Classic coins presentation


1969 Mustang Boss 302 Trans-A – Allan Moffat
1971 XY Falcon GT-HO Phase III – Allan Moffat*
1977 XC Falcon Hardtop – Allan Moffat and Jacky Ickx*
1981 XD Falcon Tru-Blu – Dick Johnson and John French*
1989 Sierra RS500 Cosworth – Dick Johnson and John Bowe*
2006 BA Falcon – Craig Lowndes and Jamie Whincup*

1970 HT Monaro GTS 350 – Norm Beechey
1972 HDT LJ Torana XU-1 – Peter Brock*
1979 LX Torana A9X – Peter Brock and Jim Richards*
1984 VK Commodore – Peter Brock and Larry Perkins*
1996 VR Commodore – Craig Lowndes and Greg Murphy*
2001 VX Commodore – Mark Skaife and Tony Longhurst*

*Bathurst winner

Australian Supercar Classic coins presentation

Gallery: Australian Supercar Classic coins presentation