Rahal Letterman Lanigan has become the first team to join the new all-electric Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy racing series. The one-make championship is set to run on the Formula E bill starting from the 2018/19 season, with a planned grid of 20 cars.

RLL's move to the series means that it will have four separate racing programmes in action next year, with a two-car IndyCar effort, a Global Rallycross programme, and the factory BMW GT team in the US all running alongside the new electric effort.

2018 Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy

Read also:

'Innovation is integral to motorsports and electric car racing is an important part of the future so this opportunity came at the perfect time for RLL,' said former racer Bobby Rahal, who co-owns the team with former late night talk show host David Letterman, and businessman Mike Lanigasn. 'Even though the first race is some time off in the distance, we're already looking forward to participating.'

'Certainly electric power is relatively new in motorsport, but being at the forefront of the technological advancement made possible by testing on the racetrack that can transfer over into production cars is exciting for us,' he added. 'To be able to contribute in some small way in the testing and development of electric vehicles that ultimately will provide more options for consumers is something to be proud of.'

Although RLL is the first, and so far only team to be revealed for the new I-Pace eTrophy, Jaguar Racing Formula E team director James Barclay said that there had been a lot of interest in the new Formula E support series.

'We are obviously delighted to be able to announce our first Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy team with racing legend Bobby Rahal and we look forward to working together with all our teams to make it a big success,' he said. 'The series is in a strong place and we look forward to announcing more news over the next few months.'

RLL won't be the first IndyCar team to race on the Formula E bill. Andretti Autosport, which recently went into partnership with BMW, has raced in Formula E since the first season of the championship. Both also compete in the Red Bull Global Rallycross series in the US.

Gallery: 2018 Jaguar I-Pace eTrophy