It comes as no surprise that the GT-R dominated proceedings.

Each year, Nissan's motorsport division – Nismo – organises a festival to celebrate its rich sporting heritage. This year marks the 20th anniversary of the special event, and Nissan has picked 20 of its most famous racing cars from its illustrious history, and has asked fans to vote for their favourites.

Despite the wide range of iconic cars up for voting, it comes as no surprise that the Skyline GT-R and GT-R dominated proceedings, with 12 of the 20 cars up for voting coming from the Godzilla family.

The 20 cars were broken up into five groups of four, which were then put to the vote on Twitter on successive days. 

On day one, the Nissan GT-R Super GT from 2008 beat out the competition, scoring 61 percent of the vote. Day two's winner was also a Super GT-winning car, with the GT-R Nismo GT500 from 2014-15 taking the win. 

The ever-popular Skyline GT-R R32 won on the third day, earning 59 percent of the vote, and day four saw the Bathurst 12-hour, Super GT GT300 champion and Blancpain GT Championship-winning Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 winning out.

The final round featured Nissan's World Championship-winning GT1 GT-R, the legendary IMSA GTP ZX-Turbo, the 1999 British Touring Championship-winning Nissan Primera and the 2003 Japanese GT Championship-winning GT-R. It was the latter car that won the day, in a clear travesty of justice for the 1999 Primera. 

The complicated craziness doesn't end there, with the top eight cars from fan voting going through to further semi-finals and then a last poll to see which is the greatest Nissan (GT-R) of them all. 

Also check out:

Gallery: 2017 Nissan GT-R Nismo