[Updated with latest launch dates]

The 2018 F1 season officially kicks off on 25 March in Melbourne, but there's still so much to happen before then, with two pre-season tests planned in late February and early March as well as 10 different car launches before things can get underway.

And so many questions to be answered – can Mercedes maintain its advantage? Will Max Verstappen be able to push and sustain a championship challenge in his Red Bull? Where will Ferrari be on the grid – can it get closer to Mercedes or even emerge on top? What state will McLaren be in following its switch from Honda to Renault power? Is Williams on the terminal decline?

With so many questions it's almost unbearable for F1 fans to cope with. Roll on March 2018...

You might also like:

2018 Formula 1 team launches

Team Date Location
Williams FW41 15 February London
Sauber C37 20 February Online launch
Renault RS18 20 February Online launch
Mercedes W09 22 February Silverstone
Ferrari 22 February Online launch
McLaren MCL33 23 February Barcelona
Toro Rosso STR13 26 February Barcelona

2018 Formula 1 calendar

Date Event Venue
March 25  Australian GP Melbourne
April 8  Bahrain GP  Sakhir
April 15  Chinese GP Shanghai
April 29  Azerbaijan GP Baku
May 13  Spanish GP Barcelona
May 27  Monaco GP Monte Carlo
June 10  Canadian GP Montreal
June 24  French GP Le Castellet
July 1  Austrian GP Spielberg
July 8  British GP Silverstone
July 22  German GP Hockenheim
July 29  Hungarian GP Budapest
August 26  Belgian GP Spa-Francorchamps
September 2  Italian GP Monza
September 16  Singapore GP Marina Bay
September 30  Russian GP Sochi
October 7  Japanese GP Suzuka
October 21  United States GP Austin
October 28  Mexican GP Mexico City
November 11  Brazilian GP Sao Paulo
November 25  Abu Dhabi GP Yas Marina
Max Verstappen Red Bull F1

Also check out:

2018 Formula 1 driver line-up

Driver/number Driver/number Team Engine
 Lewis Hamilton #44  Valtteri Bottas #77  Mercedes Mercedes
 Sebastian Vettel #5  Kimi Raikkonen #7  Ferrari Ferrari
 Daniel Ricciardo #3  Max Verstappen #33  Red Bull Renault
 Sergio Perez #11  Esteban Ocon #31  Force India Mercedes
 Lance Stroll #18 Russia Sergey Sirotkin #TBC  Williams Mercedes
 Nico Hulkenberg #27  Carlos Sainz #55  Renault Renault
 Pierre Gasly #10   Brendon Hartley #28  Toro Rosso Honda
 Romain Grosjean #8  Kevin Magnussen #20  Haas Ferrari
 Fernando Alonso #14  Stoffel Vandoorne #2  McLaren Renault
 Marcus Ericsson #9  Charles Leclerc #16  Sauber Ferrari

2018 Formula 1 testing schedule

Date Venue
February 26-March 1  Barcelona
March 6-9  Barcelona
May 15-May 16  Barcelona
July 31-August 1


Gallery: Mercedes F1